The Openness

Standard

This is another piece of learning experience comparison between MOOCs and online degree program courses – Openness. The further I explore into these two worlds, the more thorough I got to understand the meaning of openness, in terms of content, peer interaction, assignment and cohort community.

google catContent openness – It is a no brainer that you need to enrol in a degree program or in a MOOC course to interact with content. What is worth noticing is that some MOOC courses make their content open by uploading their videos on Youtube. All that means, you don’t need to register before you engage with content. And more importantly, the content is Googlable. That is a vital step to make educational resources truly open.

Interaction openness – In both cases, you cannot view peer to peer interaction unless you sign up for a course. But my question would be – why is that? Would it be ultimately thinkable that discussion of a certain subject be open to anyone? That means, people can Google about what others talk about when they learn basic algebra or biology. Would the pros overshadow the cons?

Assignment openness – For a couple of NovoEd  (NovoEd began as a social learning MOOC platform but pivoted towards a corporate training platform over time) courses I took, the best fun I had was to review others’ assignments. That is when creativity really exploded by viewing  and reflecting on what others think and do. In an accredited online course, the design is less so. One of my instructor did provide a very sound rational – since it is graded you can only view others assignments after you complete your own. That is very fair. I reflected on these two experiences and think – does it mean MOOC is for fun and accredited course is for external recognition? What are the implications and consequences of that? And would it be possible these two trespass one day?

Cohort community openness – I had a mentor from my NovoEd course ‘Technology Entrepreneurship’. He contacted me recently to introduce a current learner group to pick up my brain. Happily I accepted. Because I had fun in that course. The course design was superb, my group members worked really well together.  My mentor was very supportive and encouraging. You can feel everyone puts their heart into teaching, learning and mentoring. That engaging experience left me with no hesitance to be connected to future cohorts.

I keep my mind open when I felt openness.

Leave a Reply

