Perspective Taking

Standard

Last year when I was lectured by M about social learning, he introduced me the concept of perspective taking. That is to learn from taking perspectives from others. Nice idea, I thought.

This summer, I sat in a lecture to use MOOC course to teach international journalism. Students are from two countries at war and they need to work together for writing news together. This way, the students are encouraged institutionally to reflect how each side interpret the same event.

cat looking mirrorFor what is happening now in Hong Kong, I felt the urgency to use such education concept to show people the power of perspective taking. I have been reading social media posts from both sides. To be honest, there is a huge inconsistency so huge that it is shocking. I have been emphasising both sides are people, human like me and you. I agree that this is a complex situation but there must be common ground to be found.

Leave a Reply

