Radio silence

Standard

2rd of March, 2014 – A group of attackers burst into Kunming Station and began stabbing people at random. 29 people dead and at least 130 wounded.

3rd of March, 2014 – Baidu (the Chinese version of Google) has no news about the Kunming terror attack. Weibo (the Chinese version of Twitter) deleted any news related to the attack.

candle-05Radio silence.

I was asked many times by many people, why Chinese students are so silent in the classroom participation. I usually attributed this to the cultural differences but I guess my hypothesis was not complete. If I were silent over the news of a massive killing, I would probably not be talking in any classes either.

My deepest sorrow to those who suffered loss without even knowing why. My radio silence today.

Leave a Reply

